Occasionally, learners may be moved into a different Bedrock Vocabulary Block, even if they have not finished their current one. The new block may be higher or lower than their previous level. This is thanks to Bedrock’s adaptive technology, which ensures a more personalised experience for each learner, as they will receive the content most suitable for their level.
Why does this happen?
Bedrock is supported by a deep learning algorithm, which checks that learners are being served the right level of content for them to ensure maximum progress. This algorithm assesses learners’ pre and post test results, and if they are finding the lessons too easy or difficult, they will automatically be moved to a different block.
How does the algorithm work?
If a student scores 25% or less on any Vocabulary post-test, they will be moved down one block. Their previous block will be locked until they reach it on the learning pathway again.
If a student scores 93% or more on two consecutive pre- and post-tests (at the beginning and end of two topics), they will be moved up one block so that they are being appropriately challenged. Their previous block will be locked so that the learner can work from their new curriculum location.
If your learners have been moved up or down, don't worry; they can still move forwards through the Bedrock Vocabulary topics as normal! This algorithm just ensures that they are working from a point that is suited to their current level.
If required, it is also possible to manually change the block that your learners are working on, both at an individual and class level.